Science Department

The Minooka Community High School Science Department is committed to a laboratory approach for all classes emphasizing Illinois Science Standards, which are based on the Next Generation Science Standards. The NGSS are written as performance expectations and integrate three dimensions of learning: disciplinary core ideas, crosscutting concepts, and science/engineering practices. Our students will be asking questions and defining problems, developing and using models, planning and carrying out investigations, analyzing and interpreting data, using mathematics and computational thinking, constructing explanations and designing solutions, engaging in argument from evidence, and obtaining, evaluating, and communicating information.

Students follow a sequence which melds biological and physical sciences. Chemistry, followed by Biology and Physics is the recommended sequence for college preparatory students. Honors students experience a similar array of courses. In addition, all students have access to a variety of courses which are suited to specific interests and medical/scientific career aspirations.

Tutoring Information:
Students, on remote Wednesdays, the Science National Honor Society is hosting peer tutoring from 3-4PM in chemistry, biology and physics.  Students can sign up for tutoring by filling out this form: SciNHS Tutoring

Department Members

Donna Engel
Department Chair

Anthony Babich 
Nicholas Barello
Malarie Baumann
Kevin Dorenkamper
Brad Dorick > Teacher's Web Site
Christopher Erickson
Jamie Fisher
Monica Hannigan
Tess Hilton
Melissa Hoffart > Teacher's Web Site
Amy Kelly > Teacher's Web Site
Matt Minich 
Brooke Gierke
Jon Monti > Teacher's Web Site
Samuel Pavelka > Teacher's Web Site
Brian Petrovic
Robert Swanson
Alexa Tancil
Kim Villani