English Department

About This Department | Department Members | General Information


About This Department

The Minooka Community High School English Department offers four years of sequential English courses, as well as both semester and yearlong electives. The curriculum encourages students to demonstrate consideration and respect for others while developing their own creativity and expressive thought to actively engage a complex, globalized world. All English courses are designed to offer students opportunities to foster the habits of mind, critical thinking, and literacy skills - reading, writing, listening, speaking, and digital - that are necessary for students to build the skills of disciplined reading and composing in various rhetorical contexts and for a variety of purposes and audiences. Ultimately, it is expected that students successfully develop as scholars and citizens so that they continue to grow into self-directed, lifelong learners.

return to top of page

Department Members

Sean Hackney
Department Chair

Beth Binotti > Teacher's Web Site
Anne Blanco > Teacher's Web Site
Julie Creagh
Heather Danek
Erika Downey >Teacher's Web Site
Sarah Dzak
Olivia Gerk
Leslie Hencinski
Mike Kargle
Michael Kimberlin
Laura Landers
Kendyl Lincoln
Ron Maruszak
Jen Morgan
Becky Nemeth
Christine O'Brien > Teacher's Web Site
Ann Rapsky
Julia Riedmaier
Matt Thomas >Teacher's Web Site
Janis Tisher
Andres Torres > Teacher's Web Site

return to top of page

General Information

To view the Curriculum Guide, please click on the appropriate school year: 2017-2018

return to top of page