National Merit Commended Students Announced

National Merit Commended Students Announced
Posted on 09/28/2017

(Minooka) - Minooka Community High School Principal Ronald Kiesewetter announced today that seniors Cailyn Bass, Faith Bonds, Jacquelyn Gesbocker, Isabelle Jasper, Daniel McMillin, Joseph Rhoades, Matthew Schofield, Bradley Schumacher, and Luke Van Drie have been named Commended Students in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. A Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, will be presented to these scholastically talented seniors at the school’s Senior Honors Night this spring.

“Earning the designation of a National Merit Commended Student is one of the top academic honors a student can earn,” Kiesewetter said. “By being named Commended Students, these seniors have clearly demonstrated a dedication to academic excellence. MCHS is extremely proud of them and is fully confident they will continue their dedication to academic excellence into the future.”

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2018 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed in the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2018 competition by taking the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

“The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for NMSC. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

# # #